How to get a six-year-old to leave behind a tooth.

toothtitle1

by Molly Hallenbeck

My six year old has a tooth she refuses to lose. It has been months she has been tight fisting that little pearly white (about to turn plaque-yellow), trying desperately not to let it go. It makes her look like Nanny McPhee. Remember in the movie when Emma Thompson says, snaggle tooth and all, “Caaaalm yourself. I am Nanny McPhee. Big P, small C.”? If this child had a black hat with a feather stuck in it and a large hairy mole, she would be a dead ringer for the beloved servant who magically teaches lessons and charms children. And lest you think I jest, I have video evidence of an impersonation that I hope will live on in the family annals for years to come.

The six year old just doesn’t like change. She never has. The tooth is no longer helpful in any way. It is inconvenient when she chews, talks, tries to close her mouth, and it actually makes her lip sore because she is always fiddling with it. But she just doesn’t want to lose it. It feels like part of her that will be nothing but loss if she lets it go. She can’t see that if only she would gird up her loins and pull it out (or allow any of the four family members, various friends, neighbors, teacher, or even the doctor who offered, to do it for her) and allow the new tooth to grow unhindered, how much it would profit her. She could chew and talk with ease, and the rest of us would not be quoting things like “Your children require three lessons…” all the time. How can someone help her to see what the rest of us know to be true?

Because the new growth is coming. Whether she likes it or not, that tooth is coming out. She can hang on for as long as she wants, but she IS going to have to let it go soon.

But then I have to remember: She is just like me. How often do I hold on to something I should be letting loose? Whether it’s a bad habit, a season of life I can’t bear to think is over, or a distortion that I should exchange for truth, I have a hard time letting it go. It feels like a loss that will not profit me in any way if I allow the new growth to replace what is outdated, doesn’t fit, or is hindering what I am called to do. How can someone help me?

My creator and redeemer never yanks on my loose tooth. He lovingly and patiently allows me to wiggle and push that thing around, constantly reminding me that even though I FEEL like it’s a loss, He will replace it with something that is good for me and honors Him.

So as we patiently wait for the six year old to finally let go of a tooth, I will remember that Someone far more patient is waiting for me to let go of a few things and grow something bigger, better, and pearly white brand new.

We’d love to hear from you!  What are you letting go of so that you can move on to bigger and better?  


Leave a comment