Asking for Help for All the Things {not just the problems that are “big enough”}

by Sarah Defibaugh

We were heading out the door to a formal event and I was barely holding it together.   There were a lot of little things that were contributing to my fragile emotional state. Death by a thousand paper cuts, you could say.  Sleep and I were not on friendly terms.  I had handled an interpersonal situation poorly.  I was sweating and windblown from chasing the kids and not having had time to shower.  My husband was irritated with me.  And we hadn’t even made it to the car.  Minor things.  Dumb things. And yet I was on the verge of tears, feeling like a failure before the evening had even started. In my lap sat a gift from my mom, a clutch that I had hurriedly shoved a few items from my purse into before leaving.  I opened it to put on some lipstick on the way and saw this message, words I had missed before:  She is more Precious than Jewels. Proverbs 31:10.

moreprecious

Bam.  The God of the Universe cared that I felt insignificant.  Over minimal things.  Over things that I, in my own pride, thought:  I should be able to handle this stuff on my own!

In Bible study this week, we were discussing the story of the woman who had been bleeding (Luke 8:40-50).  This woman had spent the last twelve years trying to find a cure, but kept coming up short.  She snuck up behind Jesus and touched his coat and, just like that, the bleeding stops.  This woman received a blessing from Jesus and is recorded in the Bible for her faith.

Maybe you’re not bleeding outwardly.  Maybe it’s something that’s leaking inside of you that you’re minimalizing, thinking it’s not worthy of God’s attention, or others’ prayers.  It’s something that– like me–you think you should be able to handle on your own.  Maybe you’re like some of my friends {you know who you are!} who HATE to ask for help.  So you keep saying: “It’s not life-threatening… It’s pretty minor in the scheme of things…It’s fine…. ” You don’t want to appear weak, unspiritual, or needy.  You stuff it down, but it’s slowly poisoning you.

I can say with certainty that the enemy will do everything he can to stop you from reaching out for help. He will try to keep you on an island, not trusting others, not trusting God, and attempting to handle everything on your own.  By staying silent, by stuffing it all in, by telling yourself to just deal with it, you are depriving others from the blessing they receive by praying for you.  We are called to genuine community and it honors God when we invite people to live on our island and to share our burdens: our loads are lightened and we are refreshed.

So if you are feeling overwhelmed with big or little things this week, things that you’d like to stop carrying on your own, I want to encourage you to clutch a corner of Jesus’ robe with one hand, while reaching for a friend’s embrace with the other.  It’s ALL big stuff to Him.


7 thoughts on “Asking for Help for All the Things {not just the problems that are “big enough”}

  1. This is such good stuff, Sarah. I had a stretch a number of months ago where I just needed to hear something from God each day to combat discouragement, doubt and steady opposition. And it was just these “small” things, unmistakably from God, unmistakably for me. A conversation to share my faith, an amazing passage in the scriptures newly illuminated, an affirmation out of the clear blue from someone I ran into. These sightings are so affirming and so faith building from our so gracious Father.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Asking for Help- I absolutely wanted to read this blog so that I could encourage young mothers to support each other. It is so needed in your young community but I am 62 years old and I am so encouraged and blessed by this blog (by all who contribute). Imagine the God of the Universe so loving and caring for us that He would give you that gift of Proverbs 31:10 right when you needed to see it. He is so worthy of our praise. Sharon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Sarah for writing like every little word can do big things for us. I admire your depth of understanding and the ability to sensitively relay that as you write xx I am not inhibited to ask for help- so much so I get embarrassed that I ask so much, honest to a fault about my load, wondering if it’s wrong to ask and if people don’t want to hear or help… So thank you for encouraging me that it’s okay. And those who want to come into my island are worth having there. Love you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww faith–thank you so much for reading this post and your encouragement! You have no idea how much it means to me! I love your line about “those who want to come into my island are worth having there.” So true that not everyone is willing to do life with us. I have been so thankful for the friends who have been willing to show up with food or listen to me cry. They are a rare breed. Love you Faith!!!!! Xoxoxoxo

      Like

Leave a comment